This is the first post on the new domain, so I would like to make it a bit special
.
Hardy Heron will be released in five days, and Ubuntu’s Mozilla team has been quite busy preparing all the goodies. So, what has Mozilla team done?

Firefox 3 beta 5 is in the official repositories. It replaces the old Firefox 2, which can still be installed from the repositories. It is a pity that Firefox 3 release candidate is coming out few days after Hardy, but Firefox 3 beta 5 is very useful and pretty stable for day-to-day use. Just look at the reviews. And I’m sure we’ll be able to install Firefox 3 as soon as it comes out from Fabien Tassin’s Personal Package Archive.
Also, many members have been testing, editing and packaging Firefox 3 (and upgraded some of Firefox2) extensions for Ubuntu, so this release brings more of them than before. Currently, around 30 extensions are in the repositories. The work is still in progress, so expect more. If you would like to see your favourite extensions, feel free to suggest them at Firefox 3 extensions wiki. Ubufox extension makes it easy to install other extensions. Start it from Tools -> Add-ons -> Get Ubuntu extensions.

Prism, which allows to users to move webapps to their desktop, is also in the repositories. Be sure to check it out.
And, if you feel like living on the wild side, you can test Thunderbird 3 alpha from Fabien’s Personal Package Archive. No links, since this can be very dangerous. You have been warned
.
Congrats to the whole Mozilla team, and to the Ubuntu community
.
Categories: Linux · Software · Ubuntu · internet · mozilla
Tagged: firefox, hardy, internet, mozilla, Software, Ubuntu
I have just received a link from a friend over MSN instant messenger that pointed to “her” website on picfriender.info. I clicked it, and saw a homepage which asked me for my MSN username and password. Why would they need it? If I needed an account to visit her website, I would need to make a new one. So, the only logical thing is they would use it to get access to my account. Well, it seemed like a spam company, so I googled them. Strangely, Google knows nothing about them for now.
Then I noticed a link to their Terms of Service, and I wasn’t surprised to read this…
“We may temporarily access your MSN account to do a combination
of the following:
1. Send Instant Messages to your friends promoting this site.
2. Introduce new entertaining sites to your friends via Instant Messages.”
It doesn’t smell only like spam, it is spam. Sort of legalised, though. I hope they will be closed soon. Be sure to not give them your account information, unless you want them to send annoying links to your friends. Some of them may fall for this too… And the chain reaction begins.
In case you already gave out your personal information, the fix should be simple. Just change your password over at MSN Passport/Windows Live ID website.
Update: I have just checked the information about this website, and I found out that it was registered less than 10 hours ago. It’s logical why Google still knows nothing about it…
Update #2: It seems that this is not new, Aeriff wrote a blog post on this on March 15th. The only difference is the more logical domain name (picfriender.info vs. rkntbp.info)…
Categories: internet
Tagged: im, instant messaging, internet, messaging, msn, phishing, picfriender, picfriender.info, scam, spam, threat